Thursday, July 26, 2012

As Silver Refined by Kay Arthur

book cover
As Silver Refined
by Kay Arthur

ISBN: 1-57856-004-7
Hardcover: 276 pages
Publisher: Waterbrook
Released: 1997

Source: Borrowed from my church library.

Book Description from Back Cover:
How do you respond when your husband or wife tramples your emotions? When your boss fires you unexpectedly? When you lose your life’s savings? When the child you’ve loved and prayed for turns his back on you and your values?

When disappointments like these smash their way into your life, you may want to scream, “How could God let this happen?”

But what if God didn’t just “let it happen”? What if the things you call disappointments are really His appointments—events He is using to make you more like Christ? What if your circumstances are actually the flames of His grace, intended to melt and burn away the undesirable elements in your life, leaving you pure and radiant—like refined silver?

Life’s disappointments can send you on a dangerous downward spiral into discouragement, depression, or even despair. But in this eye-opening book, Kay Arthur guides you to biblical truths that will help you break that cycle and instead embrace disappointment as the cleansing fire God uses to make you—as silver refined—a reflection of His goodness.

My Review:
As Silver Refined is a Christian Living book about how God uses even the bad things in your life to further His purpose of making you more like Christ (if you'll let Him). I've read several books on this subject, like Hearing Jesus Speak into Your Sorrow by Nancy Guthrie, which I felt explained many of the same truths in fewer, more powerful words. However, different writing styles can sometimes speak to different people, so I'm always happy to see a book that points people to the Scriptures for truth and healing.

She made some good points and told some touching stories to underline her points. Overall, I'd recommend this book, though maybe not as much as some of the other books on this same topic that I've reviewed.

If you've read this book, what do you think about it? I'd be honored if you wrote your own opinion of the book in the comments.

Excerpt: Read an excerpt using Google Preview.
"The Refiner and His Fire" chapter, available in this excerpt, is worth reading if you have time.

Thursday, July 12, 2012

SubMISSION by Zeke Lam

book cover
heeding only His voice
by Zeke Lam

ISBN-13: 9781937481001
Mass Market Paperback: 146 pages
Publisher: Burning Lamp Media & Publishing
Released: December 1, 2011

Source: Review copy from the author.

Book Description, Modified from Back Cover:
What is the greatest challenge that the Church is facing today? In one word, author Zeke Lam suggests that the following is the greatest challenge: submission, or the lack thereof. It is not the external forces that nullify the testimony of a believer but rather the failure to humbly submit to the voice of the Lord. Learn how to submit your life wholeheartedly to the Lord so that you can dwell continually in the secret place--a place of intimacy, surrender, and joy.

My Review:
SubMISSION is a Christian Living book. The book made some good points about listening to (and obeying) only God's voice and keeping our focus on Him. I liked the preface ("Start Here") the most, but all of the chapters made good points. Overall, I'd recommend this book to those who feel they've lost their intimacy with Christ (or never had it).

Preface - Obeying God, not following our additions that we think He'll like better.

Introduction - Christians often still live like they're bound to sin, but they don't have to.

Chapter 1 - Living for God's glory (in hard times).

Chapter 2 - Not compromising, and speaking out against what is wrong.

Chapter 3 - Changing our perspective to a heavenly one.

Chapter 4 - Look to God at all times, not just in troubled times.

Chapter 5 - Showing our love for God by spending intimate time with Him (instead of only "doing things for Him," like Martha). Submitting to His plans instead of only asking Him to bless our plans.

Chapter 6 - Finding peace in the presence of God and being revived.

Chapter 7 - Don't believe Satan's lies. Speak out God's truth.

Chapter 8 - Obey God's voice and His alone. Don't allow security or insecurity to hinder your obedience.

Chapter 9 - Obedience to God, not just saying all the right words or carefully following man's traditions.

Chapter 10 - Your life proclaiming the gospel message. Walk in the presence of the Lord.

If you've read this book, what do you think about it? I'd be honored if you wrote your own opinion of the book in the comments.